Pronouns: Classes

Book Nav

140. Pronouns are used as Nouns or as Adjectives. They are divided into seven classes.

  1. Personal Pronouns.

    ego I

  2. Reflexive Pronouns.


  3. Possessive Pronouns.

    meus my

  4. Demonstrative Pronouns.

    hīc this, ille that

  5. Relative Pronouns.

    quī who

  6. Interrogative Pronouns.

    quis who?

  7. Indefinite Pronouns.

    aliquis some one

141. Pronouns have special forms of declension.

Note— These special forms are, in general, survivals of a very ancient form of declension differing from that of nouns.

Suggested Citation

Meagan Ayer, Allen and Greenough’s New Latin Grammar for Schools and Colleges. Carlisle, Pennsylvania: Dickinson College Commentaries, 2014. ISBN: 978-1-947822-04-7.